Pensacola Beach Washed Us Away!

Image Source: beachtreasureandtreasurebeaches
(Non-Personal Content)

My first couple of days off from work
in a row during the week! Talk about a celebration for us!! I’ve been so jealous of the tourists coming through getting to experience the start of summer, while I’m right here in the middle of all the fun and chaos! I told Chris I really wanted to go to the beach and we made it out there today… on a yellow flag day. Ahaha

May 29, 2013

May 29, 2013

We were so excited that the beach we chose to go to actually allowed dogs! I instantly pictured Ash running up and down the beach chasing the waves, with a huge smile on his face.

However, something else caught our eye 30 feet later…

003

Whad’ya know it… another sign a short distance away that prohibits dogs from going anywhere after that.

002arrows

I honestly saw zero dogs out there, but all the humans flocked to that section of the beach.
I can’t wait for Ash to be old enough to go to dog parks. I’m going to strut that big guy everywhere with me.

He WILL be a swimmer. 🙂  Those days are gonna be great!

The Perfect Day

The Perfect Day

The sky was partly cloudy on our first trip to the beach this year.

Happy to say that the waves were crashing high, and the water wasn’t as cold as expected.

We decided not to get in the water this time because of how high the waves were, the temperature of the waves, and the fact that we really hoped to start on our tans. ;D

That cold water getcha off guard, huh?

That cold water getcha off guard, huh?

007

“I’m not getting in that!”

005

I was really happy just lying there on my towel listening to Pandora next to Chris. 🙂 It’s rare that we get to do that I guess. I usually get one off day a week, and I like to spend that precious time at home with Ash and Chris.

Of course though, that relaxation did not last.

Before we knew it, things started to get wet.

Everything Soaked

Everything Soaked

We were both shocked at first and just lied there for a good 5 seconds before reacting. I was so happy to find out that nothing was damaged due to the water, except of course I had a little bit of water in my phone (realizing this after getting home,) so I sat it in a bowl of rice for an hour. That did the trick…

I did say the waves were coming up high, and when we sat our things down, I even remember looking at the water lines on the beach, knowing it might not be the best set up.

After the fact that all of our towels were wet, including ourselves we decided to get in the water since we couldn’t sun bathe comfortably anyways! Yes, we probably should have headed home as to avoid sand and wet seats in the car but it wasn’t that big of an issue in the end.

Getting back in the ocean for the first time in so many months was a spectacular feeling! The water splashing up against your body, and the taste of salt water are such annoyances at first…but the entire experience is a blast. Sadly though, I was caught off guard by a monster wave that pushed me head first to shore, throwing my prescription sunglasses into water. Where they are now, who knows?

It was one FUN day. I can’t wait to experience a day like this with Ash soon. 

Leave a Reply

